Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Michelin announces winners of annual College For Creative Studies design competition

2016 Michelin Challenge Design College for Creative Studies Master of Fine Arts team winners: (L-to-R) Min Sung Kim, Eryu Rocki Shi, and Jonghoon Kim from Team Cambodia

The winners of this year's Michelin Challenge Design competition for the College for Creative Studies (CCS) have just been announced at a ceremony at the A. Alfred Taubman Center for Design Education in Detroit.

Winning CCS transportation students received scholarships and an invitation to display their designs in the Michelin Challenge Design exhibit at the 2016 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS), which runs from 16-24 January 2016.

A total of 25 CCS transportation students entered this year’s challenge, which was based on the global Michelin Challenge Design theme of Mobility for All – Designing for the Next Frontier.

The 14 bachelor’s-level students were challenged to create an inter-modal mobility approach for a local region, such as the Detroit metropolitan area, that would enhance mobility in a clean, safe and efficient manner.

The 11 master’s-level students were challenged to design a mobility solution that would best serve the needs of an underserved region of the world. Three individual winners were chosen from both the master’s and bachelor’s classes, and a winning team was chosen among the master’s students.

The distinguished panel of judges for this year’s event were Darren Luke, advanced design manager, General Motors; Christopher Thomas, founder and partner, Fontinalis; Mark Nickita, president, Archive Design Studio; and Bob Miron, Michelin North America (retired).